Poll: When did you first begin serious study of Greek

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.

When did you first begin serious study of Greek

Under 16 years old
17%
Between 16 and 18
17%
Between 19 and 21
17%
Between 22 and 30
17%
Between 31 and 50
23%
Over 50 years
10%

Total votes: 30

daivid
Administrator

Poll: When did you first begin serious study of Greek

Post by daivid »

It is said that the age you start learning has a big effect on success in study of a language. Hence I am interested in the spread here.
λονδον

klewlis
Global Moderator

Re: Poll: When did you first begin serious study of Greek

Post by klewlis »

As a child I had a teacher who made us memorize greek and latin roots, and that is what actually spurred my interest. I started studying Koine in college, though I wouldn't say that at any point my studies have been "serious".
First say to yourself what you would be; then do what you need to do. ~Epictetus

epikeia
Textkit Neophyte

Post by epikeia »

Though I took one year of Classical Greek in college many years ago, I regret to say that I wouldn't class it as "serious" study. More like, "exploratory" (I also took a year of Sanskrit, for example.) A demanding teaching career left me little time for challenging outside pursuits. I'm very happy that a few years ago I became semi-retired and can now focus on Greek in my spare time.

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Post by jeidsath »

I started last year, a few weeks before my 34th birthday. I hope to post a year's retrospective of my methods and results, sometime in December.

I personally don't feel that I could have managed a language like Greek when I was younger. I am jealous of Epikeia! I wish that I were retired and had more time to spend reading.