questions about verbal aspect and deponency

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
Sofronios
Textkit Neophyte

questions about verbal aspect and deponency

Post by Sofronios »

well, I dont know whether this question is discussed already or out of topic, but please allow me to proceed. because these are two of many things that disturbed me the most in learning greeks

what I want to ask is these two question;
whether anything concerning verbal aspect theory(VAT)
and the validity of deponency as a category is important at all in learning greek?

I am just learning the language, focusing in the biblical/koine greek and my reading ability is still wet behind the ears. but when I came across these what I found is (I dont know how to say in english) many scholarly interpretation about the subject.

what is definition of aspect? is it necesary to distinguish it with aktionsart? how many verbal aspect are there? is perfect/plueperfect tense-form is stative in aspect or just the same in aspect with the present?
should we really consider some middle form in greek that have active meaning in english mind as deponent or not?

so these confuse me as if memorizing basic vocab and morphology is not a daunting task...

how is your(pl) opinion about these? is this question also disturbing those who are learning and already able to read ancient greek?

thx
ὁ δὲ εἶπε· πῶς γὰρ ἂν δυναίμην, ἐὰν μή τις ὁδηγήσῃ με;
Qui ait : Et quomodo possum, si non aliquis ostenderit mihi ?

Markos
Textkit Zealot

Re: questions about verbal aspect and deponency

Post by Markos »

Sofronios wrote:I am just learning the language...
what I want to ask is these two question;
whether anything concerning verbal aspect theory(VAT)
and the validity of deponency as a category is important at all in learning greek?