help with accents?

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
franzliszt
Textkit Neophyte

help with accents?

Post by franzliszt »

Hello everybody,

I am quite new in learning ancient Greek and I have some questions about the accents. Specifically, I am curious about the accents of the following names of nymphs:

Νυσιαδες
- Κισσεις
- Νυσα
- Ερατω
- Εριφια
- Βρομις
- Πολυμνω

They appear in Fabulae by Hyginus, but I have found their Greek spellings online (without the accents though). I'm not quite sure how to apply the rules of accentuation to the 'personal' names, so if anyone is willing to explain it to me or to write me the accents for the names listed above, I'd be very grateful.

Thank you in advance!

Damian
Textkit Neophyte

Re: help with accents?

Post by Damian »

AERATO

This is accented over ultima(last syllable).

The name ends in long vowel(omega) so we have to mark it with acute over ultima. It starts with a vowel different than 'ypsilon' or 'ro' and according to White's book(First Greek Book) this word doesn't belong to any exception so we must mark it over 'Epsilon' with a smooth pneuma/breathing('psily').

Therefore we write : Ἐρατώ

When and if I find correct answers for the rest I will update this post.

'E'(like especially)-'ΡΑ'(like racket)-'TΩΩΩΩΩ'(like toss) and the last syllable should be pronounced for a longer time as we usually do with omega(@ higher pitch due to acute).
"ερατΩΩΩΩΩ"

EDIT 23 NOV

I have just found out that nymphs not muses is our case in this topic :mrgreen:

CORONYS
Κο - ρω - νις

Τhis word is accented over the last syllable.

In accordance to White's book, p5, paragraph 24(point 24):
That word ends to 'short' vowel('ι') consequently we mark it with an acute.

Therefore we write: Κορωνίς