Vox Graeca Audios / Examples?

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
dominics
Textkit Neophyte

Vox Graeca Audios / Examples?

Post by dominics »

Hey
I am quite new to learning Greek and have recently discovered Vox Graeca. However, I am finding it a bit difficult going through the book and understanding exactly what is meant, I am most of the time just not quite sure whether what I am developing at the moment is correct.

Can people recommend any audio examples of Vox Graeca that I could use as a guide? Does something like this exist? (maybe on forvo, youtube, soundclound or archive.org ?)

Or are there any Audio CDs of it maybe one could buy?

Let me know,
Thanks a lot!

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Re: Vox Graeca Audios / Examples?

Post by jeidsath »

Ariphron uses his own personal scheme. He can comment more, but I don't believe that he's attempting to follow Allen's Vox Graeca.

Someone like Ioannis Stratakis is much closer to the Vox Graeca description: http://www.podium-arts.com/
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Post by Paul Derouda »

Iioannis Stratakis is very good. Too bad all recordings by him I've tried are ruined by an "emotive" musical score.

ariphron
Textkit Neophyte

Post by ariphron »

His ongoing project of the Spartan Constitution (attributed to Xenophon) has no background music. The first chapter is out on YouTube; I’m eagerly anticipating the rest.