Plato's Meno 80d - question on grammar

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
catomic
Textkit Neophyte

Plato's Meno 80d - question on grammar

Post by catomic »

This is my first time "posting a new topic." The question is on the first sentence of this passage (see subject line for reference):

καὶ τίνα τρόπον ζητήσεις, ὦ Σώκρατες, τοῦτο ὃ μὴ οἶσθα τὸ παράπαν ὅτι ἐστίν; ποῖον γὰρ ὧν οὐκ οἶσθα προθέμενος ζητήσεις; ἢ εἰ καὶ ὅτι μάλιστα ἐντύχοις αὐτῷ, πῶς εἴσῃ ὅτι τοῦτό ἐστιν ὃ σὺ οὐκ ᾔδησθα;

Question: Am I right to think that the verb ζητήσεις is here taking two direct objects, both in the accusative case, namely, τρόπον and τοῦτο? If yes, are there general rules on when a verb can take two direct objects (here perhaps having to do with τίνα)? If no, i.e. at least one of them is not a direct object but something else, what is it?

If it would be easier to send me to reference books, what would be the topic or section I should be looking at? I have Mastronarde's Introduction to Attic Grammar and Herber Weir Smyth's Greek Grammar.

polemistes
Textkit Neophyte

Re: Plato's Meno 80d - question on grammar

Post by polemistes »

I think that τίνα τρόπον should be read as "in which way?" here, so rather adverbially than as an object to ζητήσεις. See point II.2 in LSJ: http://stephanus.tlg.uci.edu/lsj/#eid=1 ... list-click

polemistes
Textkit Neophyte

Post by polemistes »

Also, you could read chapter 17, p. 142 in Mastronarde (2nd ed.), about the adverbial accusative.

MarkAntony198337
Textkit Neophyte

Post by MarkAntony198337 »

ἀπόλλυται
Last edited by MarkAntony198337 on Sat Jun 11, 2016 1:47 am, edited 2 times in total.

catomic
Textkit Neophyte

Post by catomic »

Thank you both. That was very helpful. (I don't know if this site discourages posts that don't add substance. I trust moderation would let me know if that is the case.)