About the acute accent

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
Dong
Textkit Neophyte

About the acute accent

Post by Dong »

I'm learning the ancient accent and there is something confusing me a lot. I'm a beginner to ancient Greek and I'm reading the book "Greek, an intensive course". In that book, there are three pitches. But I listen an audio recorded by Stephen G. Daitz and it sounds like there are some conditions that a syllable is pronunced with a lowing pitch, like the word "λόγος"(and I find there's actually NO grave mark in Daitz's literal material).

So if there's an acute mark does it always mean a rising pitch? If the answer is "No", why not using a grave mark instead of an acute mark :? ?

Thanks in advance !

ailuros
Textkit Neophyte

Re: About the acute accent

Post by ailuros »

greetings,

sorry for such a late reply to your question. as a beginner, perhaps you should not be too conerned about pronunciation at the pitch level, if that makes sense. i have little knowledge on this particular topic, but accents and other marks were added to the texts by later editors (i.e., the authors did not themselves use them in writing), and how exactly spoken ancient greek sounded remains a subject of debate. i don't want to discourage you from pursuing a worthy topic, but at this stage in your learning it may be better just to make sure that you understand the basic rules of accentuation rather than how the accent markings related to spoken pitch. also, others disagree with daitz's pronunciation choices, so it may not be good to get too fixated on one system of pronunciation only. hope this is helpful.

Timothée
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Timothée »