Sidgwick's First Greek Writer useful with what?

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
naturalphilosopher
Textkit Neophyte

Sidgwick's First Greek Writer useful with what?

Post by naturalphilosopher »

Sidgwick's First Greek Writer looks like a fantastic way to start composition while still an absolute beginner. However, most texts I've considered seem to use a quite different order of presentation for grammar. Are there any texts that work well with this old classic?

rmedinap
Textkit Neophyte

Re: Sidgwick's First Greek Writer useful with what?

Post by rmedinap »

With "texts" do you mean "reading texts"? What other "texts" have you considered?

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Post by jeidsath »

Without a teacher, I found that I needed a lot of Greek to use Sidgwick's First Greek Writer effectively. First Greek Writer is mainly about drilling the forms. He starts out with the first and second declensions, providing all verbs for you, as do most grammars. After a few lessons he begins including the consonant declination, and then verb forms. Dickey's composition book may be more appropriate to self-study.
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

naturalphilosopher
Textkit Neophyte

rmedinap wrote:With "texts" do you mean "reading texts"? What other "texts" have you considered?