Next steps for an autodidact

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
markcmueller
Textkit Member

Next steps for an autodidact

Post by markcmueller »

Although I studied Greek in college many years ago, when I decided to learn Greek again I was pretty much starting from scratch. A friend recommended the Italian Athenaze, which I love. As I work my way through the second volume, I have spent a great deal of time thinking about what to do after I finish. Since Athenaze ends with some readings from the Acharnians, I thought it might be good to continue. The fact that the play has features of "old" Old Comedy was appealing. I bought the play. In fact I bought it three times. First I bought a 1901 school edition by Merry. A prior owner had noted that the text had been bowdlerized. Sure enough, lines are missing. I wanted a text with everything. Then I bought a print-on-demand copy of the Starkie edition produced by BiblioLife. Unlike many of the copies of out of print books, the reproduction job was very good. Not a touch of blurriness. Also Starkie's edition has a wonderful layout with notes on each page like the new intermediate books. Unfortunately, the size of the font of the notes is beyond my comfort level, so I ended up buying an original copy which was comparable in price to the reproduction. I knew that I wanted to read it eventually, if not immediately after finishing Athenaze.