My Latin Plan

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
Seanchaidh
Textkit Neophyte

My Latin Plan

Post by Seanchaidh »

Salvete, amici mei. As noted in my introductory message, I have some Latin experience (I found it not so difficult to read Caesar about 3 years ago) but I need to take it to the next level at this point and I need to recover much lost ground. I've put together a plan and I can devote several hours every day to this. I'd like to ask for your critical opinion on this plan - what am I doing right, what should I add, etc.

Here's the plan:

1. Start fresh by working through the entirety of D'Ooge. I feel like I need a helping hand to walk me through Latin again, which is why I decided not to begin with simple reading.
2. Immerse myself in easy beginner reading: Julia, Cornelia, Carolus et Maria.
3. Immerse myself in slightly more complex material: Fabulae Faciles, Ciceronis Filius (Paoli), Varius Libellus (Paoli), Latin Stories (Rouse) - I also have Latin myth material compiled by Piazza.
4. Move to authentic Latin material, beginning with Caesar.
5. Unsure.

I'm also unsure whether I should include composition material, such as the recommended North and Hillard, and at what stage to introduce that.

Thank you.

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Re: My Latin Plan

Post by mwh »