Richard John Cunliffe Biography

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Richard John Cunliffe Biography

Post by jeidsath »

Does anyone know anything about Richard John Cunliffe's biography? I'm having trouble discovering anything about him beyond his publication list and the fact that he had a daughter, Mary Cunliffe.
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

Scribo
Global Moderator

Re: Richard John Cunliffe Biography

Post by Scribo »

Nothing in any of the dictionaries of classicists?
(Occasionally) Working on the following tutorials:

(P)Aristotle, Theophrastus and Peripatetic Greek
Intro Greek Poetry
Latin Historical Prose

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Post by jeidsath »

Apparently not. A librarian at Berkeley checked for me.
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

naturalphilosopher
Textkit Neophyte

Post by naturalphilosopher »

A google scholar search turns up nothing. I'd expect that one of the classical studies journals would have run an obituary for him.

Dante
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Dante »

just the blurb on the back of my copy:

Hylander
Textkit Zealot

Post by Hylander »

It's a κτημα ες αει.
Bill Walderman

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Post by jeidsath »

Yes, the above blurb is almost all that I have got.

Here he is in 1904.
Application and testimonials of Richard John Cunliffe, M.A., LL.B., for Additional Examinership for Degrees in Arts and Law, in Jurisprudence, Public and Private International Law, and Constitutional Law and History.