Oxford Book of Greek Verse 97, Tyrtaeus

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Oxford Book of Greek Verse 97, Tyrtaeus

Post by jeidsath »

Oxford Book of Greek Verse 97. "How can Man die better?" Tyrtaeus (fl. 685-668 B.C.)

I'll translate the first part of this poem in this first post, to the best of my ability, and continue on with the rest in separate posts to this thread. No special reason, except that I wanted to spend more time with poetry, and the Oxford Book of Greek Verse is a nice place to find random good pieces. I'm translating only because I don't know of another way to have my errors of understanding corrected online.

I'm also demonstrating Textkit's new PRE tag for whitespace PREservation when quoting poetry.

Τεθνάμεναι γὰρ καλὸν ἐπὶ προμάχοισι πεσόντα     ἄνδρ᾽ ἀγαθὸν περὶ ᾗ πατρίδι μαρνάμενον. τὴν δ᾽ αὐτοῦ προλιπόντα πόλιν καὶ πίονας ἀγροὺς     πτωχεύειν πάντων ἔστ᾽ ἀνιηρότατον, πλαζόμενον σὺν μητρὶ φίλῃ καὶ πατρὶ γέροντι     παισί τε σὺν μικροῖς κουριδίῃ τ᾽ ἀλόχῳ. ἐχθρὸν μὲν γὰρ τοῖσι μετέσσεται, οὕς κεν ἵκηται     χρησμοσύνῃ τ᾽ εἴκων καὶ στυγερῇ πενίῃ, αἰσχύνει τε γένος, κατὰ δ᾽ ἀγλαὸν εἶδος ἐλέγχει,     πᾶσα δ᾽ ἀτιμία καὶ κακότης ἕπεται.

The meter is elegiac couplets, and I don't see anything irregular in these first lines.

For it's a noble thing for a brave man to be dead, having fallen in the front lines fighting for what is his homeland.

But to be begging, having deserted his own city and fat fields is the most wretched of all,

Wandering with loved mother, and aged father, and small children and wedded wife.

For he'll be among them a thing hated, to whom he would go giving way to want and hated poverty,

He both dishonors his family, and a shining image convicts him*, all dishonor and badness follows.