Odyssey 5: Is Calypso trying to kill Odysseus?

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Bart
Textkit Enthusiast

Odyssey 5: Is Calypso trying to kill Odysseus?

Post by Bart »

After leaving Ogygia, Odysseus is shipwrecked by a storm unleashed by Poseidon. He nearly drowns when he falls off his self made raft (or boat) because the clothes Calypso gave him only 50 lines earlier pull him down (Odyssey 5, 319-321) )

τὸν δ᾽ ἄρ᾽ ὑπόβρυχα θῆκε πολὺν χρόνον, οὐδ᾽ ἐδυνάσθη
αἶψα μάλ᾽ ἀνσχεθέειν μεγάλου ὑπὸ κύματος ὁρμῆς:
εἵματα γάρ ῥ᾽ ἐβάρυνε, τά οἱ πόρε δῖα Καλυψώ.

is this a) coincidence, b) irony or c) a deliberate attempt by a deceitful Calypso, whose motives Odysseus feared earlier in the book (lines 173-180). Or am I d) just reading way too much into this?
Last edited by Bart on Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Hylander
Textkit Zealot

Re: Odyssey 5: Is Calypso trying to kill Odysseus?

Post by Hylander »

I think you're reading too much into it. I think it would be explicit if Calypso had deliberately tried to drown Odysseus. There's no suggestion that she anticipated the storm that shipwrecked Odysseus. And any clothes, whether or not given by Calypso, would have weighed Odysseus down the same way. Odysseus's abandonment of his clothes prepares for the comic scene with Nausicaa on Scheria and his transformation from a naked shipwrecked sailor into a handsome, imposing figure at the court of Alcinous, and this prefigures Odysseus' transformation from beggar to anax in his own domain.
Last edited by Hylander on Mon Oct 22, 2018 4:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Bill Walderman

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Post by Paul Derouda »