CARM. POP. 848 PMG

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

CARM. POP. 848 PMG

Post by jeidsath »

Again from Budelmann. Happy Halloween.
ἦλθ᾽ ἦλθε χελιδών,
καλὰς ὥρας ἄγουσα
καὶ καλοὺς ἐνιαυτούς,
ἐπὶ γαστέρα λευκά
κἀπὶ νῶτα μέλαινα.
παλάθαν οὐ προκυκλεῖς
ἐκ πίονος οἴκου,
οἴνου τε δέπαστρον
τυροῦ τε κάνυστρον;
καὶ πύρνα χελιδών
καὶ λεκιθίταν οὐκ ἀπωθεῖται.
πότερ᾽ ἀπίωμες ἢ λαβώμεθα;
εἰ μέν τι δώσεις· ἐι δὲ μή, οὐκ ἐάσομεν·
ἢ τὰν θύραν φέρωμες ἢ τὸ ὑπέρθυρον,
ἢ τὰν γυναῖκα τὰν ἔσω καθημέναν;
μικρὰ μέν ἐστι, ῥαιδίως μιν οἴσομεν.
†ἂν δὴ φέρηις τι, μέγα δή τι φέροις·†
ἄνοιγ᾽ ἄνοιγε τὰν θύραν χελιδόνι·
οὐ γὰρ γέροντές ἐσμεν, ἀλλὰ παιδία.
Swallow has come has come
leading the fine seasons
and the fine years,
towards his white breast
and towards his black back.
Won't you roll out a cake
from your wealthy house,
and a cup of wine
and a basket of cheese?
Swallow will not thrust back
even wheaten bread,
or even pulse bread.
Are we to go away or bring away?
Now if you are to give something...but if you will not, we won't suffer that.
Will we carry away the door or the lintel
or the woman sitting inside?
She's small, we will carry her away easily.
If you bring us something, make sure you bring something large,
Open Open the door for Swallow,
For we aren't old men, but children.
Last edited by jeidsath on Wed Oct 31, 2018 5:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Some changes, ἦλθε aorist, ἐπὶ "towards" instead of "upon"
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

Hylander
Textkit Zealot

Re: CARM. POP. 848 PMG

Post by Hylander »

ἦλθ᾽ ἦλθε -- what form?

γαστέρα λευκά -- what forms?

νῶτα μέλαινα -- what forms?