Pindar O. 11

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Pindar O. 11

Post by jeidsath »

(11) Ἔστιν ἀνθρώποις ἀνέμων ὅτε πλείστα χρῆσις· ἔστιν δ’ οὐρανίων ὑδάτων, ὀμβρίων παίδων νεφέλας· εἰ δὲ σὺν πόνῳ τις εὖ πράσσοι, μελιγάρυες ὕμνοι ὑστέρων ἀρχὰ λόγων (5) ⸏τέλλεται καὶ πιστὸν ὅρκιον μεγάλαις ἀρεταῖς· ἀφθόνητος δ’ αἶνος Ὀλυμπιονίκαις οὗτος ἄγκειται. τὰ μὲν ἁμετέρα γλῶσσα ποιμαίνειν ἐθέλει, ἐκ θεοῦ δ’ ἀνὴρ σοφαῖς ἀνθεῖ πραπίδεσσιν ὁμοίως. (10) ἴσθι νῦν, Ἀρχεστράτου ⸏παῖ, τεᾶς, Ἁγησίδαμε, πυγμαχίας ἕνεκεν κόσμον ἐπὶ στεφάνῳ χρυσέας ἐλαίας ἁδυμελῆ κελαδήσω, Ζεφυρίων Λοκρῶν γενεὰν ἀλέγων. (15) ἔνθα συγκωμάξατ’· ἐγγυάσομαι μή μιν, ὦ Μοῖσαι, φυγόξεινον στρατόν μήδ’ ἀπείρατον καλῶν ἀκρόσοφόν τε καὶ αἰχματὰν ἀφίξε- σθαι. τὸ γὰρ ἐμφυὲς οὔτ’ αἴθων ἀλώπηξ (19) οὔτ’ ἐρίβρομοι λέοντες διαλλάξαιντο ἦθος. (20)
There is to men a time when winds are of the most use,
and another when heavenly waters are,
the rainy children of the cloud.
But if anyone were to do well, then melodious songs,
the beginning of later esteem,
is even the sure seal of great deeds.
And this unstinted praise is dedicated to the Olympian victors.
My tongue is willing to shepherd what is our own,
and from god a man blooms into wise understanding in the same way.
Know now, son of Archestratos,
Boy who is Hagesidamos, on account of your boxing
I celebrate loudly a sweetly-sung ornament
upon your crown of golden olive,
paying attention to the race of Zephyrian Locrians.
Lead a revel there with me, I will stand surety
that you will come to them, Muses, not a inhospitable host,
and not one inexperienced of beautiful things,
but a people high in wisdom and spear-wielding.
For neither the red fox nor the roaring lions would alter their nature.
Last edited by jeidsath on Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:52 am, edited 2 times in total.