The limits of antilabe

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
cclaudian
Textkit Neophyte

The limits of antilabe

Post by cclaudian »

In a line of Greek tragic verse, can there be any more than one interruption by a speaking character? I haven't read enough to recall an example with more than one, but the thought did occur to me. E.g. could the Greek dramatist produce something like:

KING JOHN: Death?

HUBERT: My lord?

KING JOHN: A grave.

HUBERT: He shall not live.
— King John, 3.3

Or is it always a single line split by two people, as in

Πρ. ὤμοι. Ερ. τόδε Ζεὺς τοὖπος οὐκ ἐπίσταται. (Prom. Vinct. 980) ?

seneca2008
Textkit Zealot

Re: The limits of antilabe

Post by seneca2008 »

ΠΕΙΣΕΤΑΙΡΟΣ
οὗτος.
ΕΥΕΛΠΙΔΗΣ
τί ἐστιν;
ΠΕΙΣΕΤΑΙΡΟΣ
ἡ κορώνη μοι πάλαι
ἄνω τι φράζει.
ΕΥΕΛΠΙΔΗΣ
χὠ κολοιὸς οὑτοσὶ
ἄνω κέχηνεν ὡσπερεὶ δεικνύς τί μοι,
κοὐκ ἔσθ᾿ ὅπως οὐκ ἔστιν ἐνταῦθ᾿ ὄρνεα.
εἰσόμεθα δ᾿ αὐτίκ᾿, ἢν ποιήσωμεν ψόφον.

Not from tragedy but This from Aristophanes Birds (49-53) shows how a line can be split three ways.
Persuade tibi hoc sic esse, ut scribo: quaedam tempora eripiuntur nobis, quaedam subducuntur, quaedam effluunt. Turpissima tamen est iactura, quae per neglegentiam fit. Et si volueris attendere, maxima pars vitae elabitur male agentibus, magna nihil agentibus, tota vita aliud agentibus.

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Post by jeidsath »

I remember that Menander does it multiple times in Dyskolos (also comedy).
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Post by mwh »