Homer in Nature Human Behavior April 8, 2019

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Homer in Nature Human Behavior April 8, 2019

Post by jeidsath »

Nature: Large-scale quantitative profiling of the Old English verse tradition

Interesting article, primarily concerned with Beowulf. However they also count the number of periods ending lines in the Iliad versus the Odyssey and come up with this.

For instance, Fitch [34] demonstrated that the ratio of intraline to total sense-pauses is a reliable marker of relative chronology for the tragedies of Sophocles, Seneca and Shakespeare, perhaps because frequent inclusion of sense-pauses not coincident with line breaks reflects a more confident and mature poetic style.
The Fitch reference is Fitch, J. Sense-pauses and relative dating in Seneca, Sophocles and Shakespeare. Am. J. Philol. 102, 289–307 (1981).