TLGMarathon: Odyssey, resources

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Redhead
Textkit Neophyte

TLGMarathon: Odyssey, resources

Post by Redhead »

So, I thought this topic could serve as a place to efficiently display the items of interest for the first reading of the Odyssey. I know this has been discussed in several other places, but as a part of my the TLGMarathon series, I thought it would be nice to have it all conveniently stored in the first post of a topic, and not scattered all over a thread, or several threads, buried under loads of all too interesting opinions about the items that distracts (which has been my experience in the digging on the forum). If I may ask you to name your favorite(or any!) resources first in your comments, and then any eventual opinion underneath, and then I will update my first post so that anyone who wants material for this kind of endeavor, modern in particular, only needs to look for "TLGMarathon"(I plan to do this with every text that I'll be reading) and then finds a list πεπληρωμένον ὡς μάλιστα ἀλλὰ καὶ εὐμέτρως in the first post. If you come across anything new in particular, I would be delighted to update the list(s). It's always more difficult to keep up with the new stuff, especially since there's that 2 year gap in L'Année Phil. that hinders my sleep at night.

Commentary, text, translation

-Homer's Odyssey : Greek text with facing vocabulary and commentary /Geoffrey Steadman https://geoffreysteadman.com/# (look under "Homer", and there will be upcoming volumes, now 6-13, 17-20(beta!))
-Odyssey, Book 1 / Homer ; edited with an introduction, translation, commentary, and glossary by Simon Pulleyn; Oxford 2018
-Odyssey. Books XIII and XIV /edited by A. M. Bowie; Cambridge 2014
-Odyssey. Books XVII-XVIII /Homer ; edited by Deborah Steiner; Cambridge 2010