Odyssey Reading Group: Book 6 Lines 24-47

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
seanjonesbw
Textkit Enthusiast

Odyssey Reading Group: Book 6 Lines 24-47

Post by seanjonesbw »

Welcome to the Odyssey Reading Group! Anyone is welcome to join, regardless of their Greek ability. If you’re itching to explore Homer’s epic tale of survival, adventure, love, lust, kinship, betrayal and spooky dead people, hop on in, you’ll be very welcome. People who have some Greek but have never tried reading Homer before are doubly welcome.

Check the introductory thread for a description of how the group works.

There is now a separate Translation Workshop thread if you want help with specific problems or advice on translations.

Resources
We’re working from Geoffrey Steadman’s Odyssey Books 6-8, a freely-available pdf

An introduction to Book 6 and a list of resources for deeper study are available in the group dropbox folder

I've also been making flashcards to go with Steadman's text (vocab occurring >8 times in Books 6-8)

Week 2: Friday 14th June
Next week we'll be reading Book 6 Lines 48-70 – Nausikaa goes to Alkinoos
Last edited by seanjonesbw on Fri Jun 14, 2019 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

seanjonesbw
Textkit Enthusiast

Re: Odyssey Reading Group: Book 6 Lines 24-47

Post by seanjonesbw »