Il. 6.2-3 Genitive Absolute?

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Barry Hofstetter
Textkit Zealot

Il. 6.2-3 Genitive Absolute?

Post by Barry Hofstetter »

2 πολλὰ δʼ ἄρʼ ἔνθα καὶ ἔνθʼ ἴθυσε μάχη πεδίοιο
3 ἀλλήλων ἰθυνομένων χαλκήρεα δοῦρα
Seymour wrote:ἰθυνομένων: sc. “μαχητῶν”. cf. “περὶ στήθεσσι δὲ χαλκὸς ͅ σμερδαλέον κονάβιζε” (rang) “τιτυσκομένων” (aiming) “καθʼ ὅμιλον ͅ ἀλλήλων Ν” 497 ff. In later Greek, this would be considered as gen. abs., but here the implied noun is prob. a limiting gen. with “μάχη”. § 3 f.
Seymour, T. D. (1891). Homer’s Iliad, Books IV-VI. Medford, MA: Ginn and Company.

Any opinions on this? Before I read the note I just naturally took it as a GA.
N.E. Barry Hofstetter

Cuncta mortalia incerta...

Aetos
Textkit Zealot

Re: Il. 6.2-3 Genitive Absolute?

Post by Aetos »

Leaf's commentary shows it as a genitive absolute. "as they aimed at one another", (with no subject)
Willcock just gives the same translation, which would be a normal translation for a gen. abs.
Ameis as well indicates that it's a g.a. with an implied subject of "die Kämpfer" (οἱ μαχητοί or in this case, τῶν μαχητῶν)

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Post by jeidsath »

What does the referenced “§ 3 f.” say?
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

Aetos
Textkit Zealot

Post by Aetos »

Can't find Para. 3, but here's what Seymour has to say about the genitive absolute in Homer:
https://archive.org/details/firstthreeb ... g/page/n27

EDIT: I should say I found para. 3, but it has nothing to do with uses of the genitive. Para. 3 in Seymour's introduction contains the definition of an epic poem.

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Post by jeidsath »