Anonyma from Epigrammata Graeca

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Anonyma from Epigrammata Graeca

Post by jeidsath »

I flipped through Page's Epigrammata Graeca OCT this morning, looking for poets that I wouldn't need a dictionary for, and settled on this Anonyma guy.

οὐκέτ᾽ ἐρῶ. πεπάλαικα πόθοις τρισίν· εἷς μὲν ἑταίρης, εἷς δέ με παρθενικῆς, εἷς δέ μ᾽ ἔκαυσε νέου, καὶ κατὰ πᾶν ἤλγηκα. γεγύμνασμαι μὲν ἑταίρης πείθων τὰς ἐχθρὰς οὐδὲν ἔχοντι θύρας· ἔστρωμαι δὲ κόρης ἐπὶ παστάδος αἰὲν ἄυπνος, ἕν τι ποθεινότατον παιδὶ φίλημα διδούς· οἴμοι, πῶς εἴπω πῦρ τὸ τρίτον; ἐκ γὰρ ἐκείνου βλέμματα καὶ κενεὰς ἐλπίδας οἶδα μόνον.

I no longer speak. I've been overthrown by passions three. One for a whore,
one for a nun, and one that inflames me after a lad.
And by them all I am pricked. I've stripped for the whore,
persuaded by a passion with no guarded entrances.
I've been spread out by the maiden on my bed always sleepless,
having given the child a single most passionate kiss.
Oh dear, how shall I speak of the third fire? For from that one
I only know glances and empty hopes.

πεπάλαικα - overthrown? Wrestling related verb? Or just "struck"?
τὰς ἐχθρὰς θύρας - "guarded entrances"? I thought that ἐχθρά was a noun? "Having no doors that are enemies"?
παστάδος - something one is ἔστρωμαι on. A bed? From παστάρ? I can't think of any -αδος words that I know
φίλημα - Is "kiss" over-specifying? Any mark of affection?
διδούς - Active participle? I would have expected a passive
βλέμματα - From βλέμμα. Is this a glance or a wink? I only have a vague sense of it having to do with the eye.

EDIT: Fixed ἐκείου -> ἐκείνου, noticed by Paul below