A comprehension exercise

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
mwh
Textkit Zealot

A comprehension exercise

Post by mwh »

εϲτόλιϲενμε[ . .]αφαροϲανεψιοϲ
αιολουιπ[ .]οταδα·καθ[ . .]αιϲδετα
νυϲϲἐπα[ . . .]εϲ
ϲιπυρανδ[ ̣ ̣]αμεμβλε[ .]ονεκρωι
c.9 ]εριμάκεαϲο[ .]ουϲ
c.9 ]ίαϲεριδὰ[

It’s a papyrus fragment, obviously. I don’t expect anyone to make complete sense of it, but it could be fun to see what you can make of it and if you can tell what’s going on.

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Re: A comprehension exercise

Post by Paul Derouda »

This is a nice challenge but a difficult one, and I need to go to sleep. This is just a start. Maybe I got something right? This just might feature a ship being equipped - my wild guess.

ἐστολισεν με [ . .]αφαροϲ ανεψιοϲ
αιολου ιπ[ .]οταδα·καθ[εδρα]αιϲ δ᾽ ετανυϲϲ
ἐπα[ . . .]εϲ
ϲιπυρανδ[ ̣ ̣]α μεμβλε[το] νεκρωι
c.9 ]ίαϲεριδὰ[

... cousin equipped me
nimble/shiny .... stretched on (rower's?) seats
... cared for the dead body (had a thought for the dead person?)

Barry Hofstetter
Textkit Zealot

Post by Barry Hofstetter »

mwh wrote: Tue Nov 05, 2019 9:01 pm εϲτόλιϲενμε[ . .]αφαροϲανεψιοϲ
αιολουιπ[ .]οταδα·καθ[ . .]αιϲδετα
νυϲϲἐπα[ . . .]εϲ
ϲιπυρανδ[ ̣ ̣]αμεμβλε[ .]ονεκρωι
c.9 ]εριμάκεαϲο[ .]ουϲ
c.9 ]ίαϲεριδὰ[

It’s a papyrus fragment, obviously. I don’t expect anyone to make complete sense of it, but it could be fun to see what you can make of it and if you can tell what’s going on.
Words I think I recognize (assuming no word division):

1. ἐστόλισέν με... ἄφαρ ὅς ἀνέψιος?
2. αἰόλου from αἰόλος?
4. πῦρ and ἀνδ- from ἀνήρ, νεκρῷ?
5. οὕς
6. ἔριδα from ἔρις?

Somewhere in the ballpark, even if out in left field?
N.E. Barry Hofstetter

Cuncta mortalia incerta...

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Post by mwh »