Odyssey Reading Group: Book 7 Lines 184-206

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
seanjonesbw
Textkit Enthusiast

Odyssey Reading Group: Book 7 Lines 184-206

Post by seanjonesbw »

Welcome to the Odyssey Reading Group! Anyone is welcome to join in at any time, regardless of their Greek ability. If you’re itching to explore Homer’s epic tale of survival, adventure, love, lust, kinship, betrayal and spooky dead people, hop on in, you’ll be very welcome. People who have some Greek but have never tried reading Homer before are doubly welcome.

Please feel free to ask any question in this thread, no matter how basic you think it is, and we will try to help you with an answer.
More Information About the Group
Show

Check the introductory thread for a description of how the group works.

We’re working from Geoffrey Steadman’s Odyssey Books 6-8, a freely-available pdf with vocabulary and notes

Resources for deeper study are available in the group dropbox folder

We started at Book 6. Here are all the threads so far:

Book 6
Lines 1-23
24-47
48-70
71-92
93-118
119-140
141-161
162-185
186-210
211-238
239-261
262-294
295-331 [end]

Book 7
1-26
27-47
48-77
78-102
103-132
133-157
158-183
Greek text lines 184-206
Show
184 αὐτὰρ ἐπεὶ σπεῖσάν τʼ ἔπιόν θʼ, ὅσον ἤθελε θυμός,
185 τοῖσιν δʼ Ἀλκίνοος ἀγορήσατο καὶ μετέειπε·

186 “κέκλυτε, Φαιήκων ἡγήτορες ἠδὲ μέδοντες
187 ὄφρʼ εἴπω τά με θυμὸς ἐνὶ στήθεσσι κελεύει.
188 νῦν μὲν δαισάμενοι κατακείετε οἴκαδʼ ἰόντες·
189 ἠῶθεν δὲ γέροντας ἐπὶ πλέονας καλέσαντες
190 ξεῖνον ἐνὶ μεγάροις ξεινίσσομεν ἠδὲ θεοῖσιν
191 ῥέξομεν ἱερὰ καλά, ἔπειτα δὲ καὶ περὶ πομπῆς
192 μνησόμεθʼ, ὥς χʼ ὁ ξεῖνος ἄνευθε πόνου καὶ ἀνίης
193 πομπῇ ὑφʼ ἡμετέρῃ ἣν πατρίδα γαῖαν ἵκηται
194 χαίρων καρπαλίμως, εἰ καὶ μάλα τηλόθεν ἐστί,
195 μηδέ τι μεσσηγύς γε κακὸν καὶ πῆμα πάθῃσι,