John 18:1 Possible timing of when Jesus and His disciples had entered the garden

Are you learning Koine Greek, the Greek of the New Testament and most other post-classical Greek texts? Whatever your level, use this forum to discuss all things Koine, Biblical or otherwise, including grammar, textbook talk, difficult passages, and more.
dbsawyer
Textkit Neophyte

John 18:1 Possible timing of when Jesus and His disciples had entered the garden

Post by dbsawyer »

This is my first post to the forum. I am a student of the Bible with no formal Greek (or Hebrew) training, but generally good with languages (fluent in English and Spanish, decent with Japanese, and past basic study years ago in German and French), a master's in TESOL, and years of experience teaching English. My needs are mostly related to trying to better understand the Greek grammar of Biblical texts. I also like to attempt to picture the scene when reading the Scriptures. I am reading John and have a basic underlying understanding the John wrote his gospel last, was familiar with the other gospels, and was deliberately adding important details and perspective that was missing elsewhere rather than repeating previously written parts of the gospel story.
In this case, I am reading in John 18:1 after finishing John 17 (Jesus' last extended prayer recorded before His arrest).
In comparing this text to the synoptic gospels and imagining the scene (Matthew, Mark, and Luke), it seems most likely to me that John 17 was the continuation of Jesus' prayer in Gethsemane, which began in the synoptics with Jesus asking God to take away the cup of suffering but yielding to the Father's plan. Peter (and likely James, who was dead before any of the gospels were written) drifted off to sleep after the first part, but it seems that John remained awake, heard the rest of the prayer, and recorded it in John 17.