Independent Study of Latin

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
dlb
Textkit Member

Independent Study of Latin

Post by dlb »

As a take off from the thread below entitled, "some input please", I would like to know why you study Latin if you are not enrolled in school, thus doing so independently.
Thanks,
dlb
Deus me ducet, non ratio.
Observito Quam Educatio Melius Est.

Quis ut Deus
Textkit Member

Re: Independent Study of Latin

Post by Quis ut Deus »

Salve dlb!

I reread your question and you where asking WHY, not HOW! Sorry about that.

I study Latin because of "unfinished business." In college, I majored in history and part of my focus was the ancient world. I fell in love with Rome and its history. I had planned to stay one more year in school, specifically to study Latin, but financial considerations dictated that I get a job.

So, I never got around to it until the last year. Now, I'm hooked. My goal is to be able to read Caesar, Livy, Tacitus, and other Roman historians in their own tongue, over a nice hot cup of coffee.

Vale. :D
Last edited by Quis ut Deus on Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

phil96
Textkit Neophyte

Post by phil96 »

Salve dlb.

- As a botanist I always regretted that I'd turned down the opportunity to learn Latin at school in favour of a modern language. (Think of all those botanical descriptions that have to be in Latin even now, not to mention the scientific names for plants).
- The sheer challenge of it. (Cryptic crossword puzzles are fun too!)
- To help keep Dr Alzheimer at bay.
- The increasing joy of finding that Latin sentences increasingly begin to make sense.

adrianus
Textkit Zealot

Post by adrianus »

I study it to honour the past, to defy the future, to fulfill a promise to myself made many years ago, and because of the challenges its word-order poses for machine translation.