Ørberg textbooks for an italian learner

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
marcovlatinforum
Textkit Neophyte

Ørberg textbooks for an italian learner

Post by marcovlatinforum »

Hi everyone! As said in my presentation post, I'm an Italian guy. I have some knowledge of the Latin language obtained from standard grammar textbooks: I know declensions, something about periphrastic, ect... but, to provide a basis for comparison, I still find difficult to translate Caesar's work. I recently discovered Ørberg's LINGVA LATINA, and started reading the pars I. As I can see, there is a lot of good discussions about these texts on this forum, but none of these seemed to address my problem.

The point is that I find the text quite trivial, and I'm not sure if I'm applying the method correctly: even if I had known nothing about Latin, I could have read the first seven chapters with extreme simplicity, for the simple reason that, speaking Italian, I find the elementary Latin of Ørberg identical to my language. This makes me literally ignore some constructions that are grasped immediately. I was curious, and skimmed the first pages of a copy of Ἀθήνᾱζε: quite paradoxically, it was easier to memorize the grammatical constructions illustrated in a language which I totally ignore (having a previous knowledge of Greek alphabet did not help in this: the sound of the nouns, of the verbs and of the phrases is pretty different from Italian, making it easier to analyze the morphological structure of the sentence in my mind, without being distracted from the things which I already know).