What's the best English translation of Herodotus?

Karkaett
Textkit Neophyte

What's the best English translation of Herodotus?

Post by Karkaett »

I tried searching for previous threads about this but didn't find them.

Thanks

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Re: What's the best English translation of Herodotus?

Post by Paul Derouda »

I have sampled quite a few of them, so I'll give my personal opinion. English isn't my native language, so I'm not too good at judging stylistic questions; I rather concentrate on accuracy and readability.

I'd say clearly the best translation overall is Robin Waterfield's (I don't intend to promote Amazon, just show you the book I mean). It's a not-too-literal paraphrase of the Greek text that reproduces very faithfully the meaning but not the form of the Greek. As such, it's of course not very useful as a crib for reading the original. Some people apparently don't like the way Waterfield has cut up Herodotus' long, elaborate sentences into short ones in English, but to get an adequate idea of what Herodotus really wants to say I think this is clearly the best option. The accompanying notes by Carolyn Dewald are good but rather advanced.

The Landmark Herodotus can be recommended for all the additional material it contains (mostly essays, the footnotes aren't that good), including a LOT of maps (perhaps too many). The translation is very readable but has quite a few inaccuracies.