Too late to become a classicist?

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
mylmyl
Textkit Neophyte

Too late to become a classicist?

Post by mylmyl »

Hi everyone, and good evening.
I'm Myl and I'm a PhD in Asian and African studies and Intercultural studies and translatology.
When I had to choose my major, I was talked into study Chinese by my parents as they thought it was "useful" , while my passion was actually Latin and, to a lesser extent, Greek.
I managed to change the course of my study when I did my masters in Comparative Literature and then my PhD thesis, where I hypothesised a connection between a Tang version of Cinderella-like story and Rhodopis's tale found in Herodotus and Strabo.
Now I've "completed" my studies, I don't work in the Academic work ( I teach English abroad) but I REALLY miss the challenge of Academy, but I'm taking a break..I'm interested in international travelling stories and in fairy tales in the ancient world , and I really wanna go back to my Latin and Greek that I've never really abandoned but severely neglected. I know Latin and Greek grammar pretty well (let's say at an Upper Intermediate level ) but I lack loads of vocabulary...and I feel it's too late for me to become a decent classicist (I'm over 35).In this amazing website I found two books that caught my eye , and I would ask you great people for some advice. Homeric Greek by Clyde Pharry and Latin an Intensive Course .What do you suggest , guys? Thanks for your help and sorry for the lng message!
Myl

smitterle
Textkit Neophyte

Re: Too late to become a classicist?

Post by smitterle »

Just do it and see for yourself how much you enjoy it. Life changes every day and what you think you want to do today might not be the same you'll want tomorrow, or what you desire today might not be what a while ago you thought you should do.

Barry Hofstetter
Textkit Zealot