A learner with Arabic Background

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
Mushrraf
Textkit Neophyte

A learner with Arabic Background

Post by Mushrraf »

Salvete Omnes!

Hopefully you are fine and reading these words in the best of your faith and health!

I am "Mushrraf Baig Ashraf". Surprisingly, my name has three parts just like a classic latin name had "tres partes: paranomen, nomen cognomenque" where "Baig" is my cast and "Ashraf" is my father's name. It is not "necesse" that everyone has three parts in his name, in our area. But, they usually have two.

I am a student of Arabic language and its sciences and have a love for languages as language is a strange phenomenon in nature and if I speak in terms of my belief, then I would say that it is a marvelous manifestation of the attributes of God, Almighty. Besides, English has been a part of our life for a long time and it is inevitable to indulge into it. And, language is not just a collection of words, rather it is broader than this. Tt is a historical, cultural accumulation. So, I realized that I need to learn Latin which is considered "mater multarum linguarum Europae". And, although English is categorized under the Germanic languages, Latin's impact in profound and after I started learning Latin and acquired a bit of "Grammatica Latina" I started reading the etymology of almost every English words, passes by me and I was surprised that the roots of the most words go back to Latin. So, it is really an interesting experience. So, I would say that: "Et Latinam amo".