Is this correct Latin?

This board is a composition workshop, like a writers' workshop: post your work with questions about style or vocabulary, comment on other people's work, post composition challenges on some topic or form, or just dazzle us with your inventive use of galliambics.
VABritto
Textkit Neophyte

Is this correct Latin?

Post by VABritto »

Hey there, I have a habit of writing a journal in Latin to practice Latin daily. I was wondering if anyone could read it and tell me if it is correct. Here I am mostly interested in grammatical errors. I can imagine everyone would have a different idea of how to portray modern concepts in Latin, but since I am new to the language I would ask if it is alright with you that you judge mostly my grammar so that I know if the Latin is intelligible. I thank you very much for the help!
A.d. XVI Kal. Iun., Dominica V Post Pascha, Litore Magno.

Hodie laboravi penso Gustavi et missam Pr. Iosephi Henrici do Carmo vidimus et paeterea ego et Beatrix glos et Daniel et Petrus ludum personarum lusimus. Petrus clericus cuidam dei, Acolam appellatum, appellatus Vesley erat. Beatrix barda appellata Cassandra erat. Daniel magister ludi erat. Ego magus appellator Maximus Fahrenheit erat. Personae nostrae contra nigromantem regem in expeditionem it. Persona mea pecuniam duci debet scelesto ac insidiati sumus a viris eius qui paene nos interfecerunt. Sessio ludi nobiscum interficientibus eos finivi.

bedwere
Global Moderator

Re: Is this correct Latin?

Post by bedwere »

This is not meant to be exhaustive.

Pascham

praetereā

cuiusdam

Acolae appellātī

appellātōr ?? appellātus?

insidior is deponent --> virī ejus nōbīs īnsidiātī sunt

The last sentence does not make sense to me. Maybe you meant we died and the game ended?

VABritto
Textkit Neophyte

Post by VABritto »

First of all thanks for the quick answer! I'll try to explain the parts that seem confusing.

"... appellatus Vesley erat"