Iliad 7.360: ἐξ ἄρα δή τοι ἔπειτα θεοὶ φρένας ὤλεσαν αὐτοί. -- why ἐξ?

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
bcrowell
Textkit Fan

Iliad 7.360: ἐξ ἄρα δή τοι ἔπειτα θεοὶ φρένας ὤλεσαν αὐτοί. -- why ἐξ?

Post by bcrowell »

In Iliad 7.360, Paris is angry that Antenor wants to give Helen back to the Greeks. He says that if this is really a serious proposal: --

ἐξ ἄρα δή τοι ἔπειτα θεοὶ φρένας ὤλεσαν αὐτοί.

What is ἐξ doing here? Is it acting as an adverb? If it was being used as a preposition, I would expect there to be a genitive noun, but I don't see one there for it to govern. But if ἐξ is an adverb here, I don't see what it would mean, unless it's something like "wreck your wits out," or "deprive the wits out of you."

Cunliffe mentions this line as an example in his entry for ὄλλυμι: "In reference to faculties or qualities, to cause to perish, destroy, deprive one of: ἔκ τοι θεοὶ φρένας ὤλεσαν Η360 = Μ234. Cf. δ668, σ181, 252 = τ125, φ284."

Is there a general idiom like ὄλλυμι ἐκ + acc. that means "to deprive of?" As an English speaker, it seems natural to me to have this kind of verb + preposition construction, like "piss off," "knock down," etc., but in Greek I would have expected something more like a compound ἐξόλλυμι. Would it be like that but with other words interposed, roughly analogous to "piss me totally off?"
Ben Crowell, Fullerton, California
Ransom is an innovative presentation of Homer made with open-source software: https://bitbucket.org/ben-crowell/ransom

bedwere
Global Moderator

Re: Iliad 7.360: ἐξ ἄρα δή τοι ἔπειτα θεοὶ φρένας ὤλεσαν αὐτοί. -- why ἐξ?

Post by bedwere »

Could it be tmesis of ἐξόλλυμι?

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Post by jeidsath »