Iulia's Intro

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
varnenas
Textkit Neophyte

Iulia's Intro

Post by varnenas »

Hi. I’m a student in the history of philosophy and I made my way to classical languages first driven by the dream of reading latin poetry then by professional interest. I had a short introductory course in latin and afterwards was studying grammar, reading easy texts on my own and finally reading and translating some renaissance latin texts with a friend from philosophy.

This academic year I started to study Ancient Greek with a volunteer teacher and a group of fellows. Since October I was studying obsessively, but some time ago the classes have stopped. This sad circumstance compelled me finally to register on the forum which I have been occasionally visiting for some time already gaining inspiration from discussions of learning methods and textbooks.

For now my study plan in Latin is to continue reading Roma Aeterna while revising some grammar topics. With Greek it is more complicated. I've finished 10th chapter of Athenaze I, 14th chapter of Alexandros (Greek Boy at Home by Cultura clásica ), read some chapters from Mythologica (by the same editor), had a glimpse on Thrasymachus (by Peckett and Munday) and Reading greek by JACT. These were the books we used in class with the study group. I would like to continue reading from these textbooks and doing grammar exercises. Although my main grammar textbooks are in Russian which is my native language, I extensively use grammar reference and exercises in other languages as well (mostly English and French).