Genitive -ium

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
TeacherPan
Textkit Neophyte

Genitive -ium

Post by TeacherPan »

Hello,
I am a secondary education teacher and I teach ancient Greek and Latin. I have a grammar book where I read that all 3rd declension nouns with genitive in -ium have or had stem ending in -i:
e.g.: puppis, puppium
ars [*older nominative: artis], artium.
Also, all neutral nouns have gen. -ium: mare, marium.
Last, there are some analogical formations in -ium: urbs, urbium.

My question: do I have to memorise all nouns with gen. ending -ium, or there's a rule I can use so as to guess when gen. ending is -ium?
“So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.”
The Great Gatsby - F. Scott Fitzgerald

seneca2008
Textkit Zealot

Re: Genitive -ium

Post by seneca2008 »

I hope you find this helpful from from Kennedy's latin primer:

The following rule with regard to the form of the Genitive Plural may be given for practical convenience:
Nouns with a syllable more in the Genitive Singular than in the Nominative Singular (Imparisyllabic Nouns) have Genitive Plural in -um.

Nouns with the same number of syllables in the Nominative Singular and Genitive Singular (Parisyllabic Nouns) have Genitive Plural in -ium.

The chief exceptions to this rule are the following:

(a) Imparisyllabic Nouns which have Genitive Plural in -ium are: glīs, līs, mās, mūs, nox, and Nouns of one syllable of which the Nominative Singular ends in -ns, -rs, -bs, -ps, -rx, -Ix; and neuters in -al, -ar.*

Often also: fraus, rēn, lār, dōs, Nouns of two syllables with Nominative Singular ending in -ns, -rs, and most Nouns in -ās (gen. -ātis). These last and Nouns in -ns are especially variable. Horace writes both parentum and parentium, but the latter is rare.